Eklund To Chair Senate Criminal Justice Committee
Will serve as Vice-Chair of Commerce & Labor Committee
January 09, 2013
[ John Eklund Home | John Eklund Press ]

COLUMBUS — State Senator John Eklund has been tapped by Senate President Keith Faber (R- Celina) to serve as Chairman of the Senate Criminal Justice Committee for the 130th General Assembly. Eklund will also serve as Vice-Chairman of the Commerce & Labor Committee. Both committees were established as separate panels as part of the Senate Committee restructuring announced earlier this month by President Faber.

“I am honored to have been selected to head this important committee,” Eklund said. “While we have taken steps in recent years to reform our criminal justice system, keeping our families and communities safe remains a top priority for my colleagues and I in the Senate. In my role as Chairman, I hope to work collaboratively with the law enforcement and legal community on policies that will protect Ohioans while giving those who have served their time a path back to the workforce and society.” 

Senator Eklund – who previously served on the Senate Judiciary Committee during the last legislative session – will draw on his three decades of legal expertise in his new role as Chairman. A partner at the Calfee, Halter & Griswold law firm, much of his work has focused on areas involving civil and criminal anti-trust litigation, trade regulation, class actions and mergers and acquisitions. 

In addition, Eklund was appointed to the Energy & Natural Resources Committee, the Public Utilities Committee, the Civil Justice Committee, the Ways & Means Committee, and the Finance Subcommittee on General Government. 

Senator Eklund was appointed to the Ohio Senate in 2011 and was sworn in earlier this week for his first full term in the Senate.

Featured Posts

Eklund Commends USDA Secretary For Decision To Make Disaster Relief Available For Area Residents


COLUMBUS - State Senator John Eklund (R-Munson Township) issued the following statement today in response to the declaration issued by the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue, which assigns Ashtabula and Geauga counties as primary disaster designation areas following damages inflicted from a tornado, excessive rain, flooding, high winds and lightning that occurred November 5, 2017.


Eklund Touts Senate Passage Of Bill Strengthening Ohio's Criminal Justice System


COLUMBUS - State Senators John Eklund (R-Munson Township) and Charleta Tavares (D-Columbus) recently announced the Senate passage of bipartisan legislation that would make a number of comprehensive improvements to Ohio's criminal justice system.


Eklund Announces $2.62 Billion Capital Improvement Bill, Highlights Area Projects


COLUMBUS - State Senator John Eklund (R-Munson Township) this week announced the introduction of the state's Capital Budget, a $2.62 billion investment in Ohio's infrastructure and local community projects. 


Eklund Urges Department Of Defense To Choose Camp Ravenna For Missile Defense System


"Bringing the missile defense system to Ohio would create hundreds of high-paying jobs for our community," said Eklund. "I am happy to see the House take action on this important resolution that I hope will help secure a multi-billion dollar investment in Ohio, and also play an important role in our country's national defense strategy."