Columbus - 
The Ohio Senate today approved legislation sponsored by State Senator John Eklund (R- Munson Township) extending the deadline for Ohio's Enterprise Zone Program to October 15, 2013, ensuring Ohio continues to provide a business friendly environment which is needed for ongoing job growth. The program is currently scheduled to end this October. "For years, Ohio's Enterprise Zone Program has helped communities across Ohio work together with businesses to create and retain jobs, and this bill will extend the deadline of this program allowing this important work to continue," Eklund said. "Programs like this play an important role in furthering our economic recovery, helping make Ohio an attractive place for employers to locate or expand." This economic development tool is administered by municipal and county governments and provides real and personal property tax exemptions to businesses making investments in Ohio. Local officials will be able to continue to negotiate with businesses and offer tax incentives to encourage new investment. These incentives help provide communities with a competitive advantage through encouraging businesses to relocate or reinvest in their facilities, fostering an environment for job growth. To establish an enterprise zone, interested communities submit a petition to the Ohio Department of Development detailing the geographic "zone" ideal for development. Once the enterprise zone is certified, local officials can then develop incentive agreements with businesses that invest within that zone. Companies must meet qualifications and make significant investments in infrastructure, land, machinery or equipment in order to apply for tax incentives. Senate Bill 320 now moves to the Ohio House of Representatives for further consideration.
Senator Eklund represents the 18th Ohio Senate District, which encompasses Geauga and Lake counties as well as portions of Cuyahoga County. For more information, please visit
Featured Posts

Eklund Commends USDA Secretary For Decision To Make Disaster Relief Available For Area Residents


COLUMBUS - State Senator John Eklund (R-Munson Township) issued the following statement today in response to the declaration issued by the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue, which assigns Ashtabula and Geauga counties as primary disaster designation areas following damages inflicted from a tornado, excessive rain, flooding, high winds and lightning that occurred November 5, 2017.


Eklund Touts Senate Passage Of Bill Strengthening Ohio's Criminal Justice System


COLUMBUS - State Senators John Eklund (R-Munson Township) and Charleta Tavares (D-Columbus) recently announced the Senate passage of bipartisan legislation that would make a number of comprehensive improvements to Ohio's criminal justice system.


Eklund Announces $2.62 Billion Capital Improvement Bill, Highlights Area Projects


COLUMBUS - State Senator John Eklund (R-Munson Township) this week announced the introduction of the state's Capital Budget, a $2.62 billion investment in Ohio's infrastructure and local community projects. 


Eklund Urges Department Of Defense To Choose Camp Ravenna For Missile Defense System


"Bringing the missile defense system to Ohio would create hundreds of high-paying jobs for our community," said Eklund. "I am happy to see the House take action on this important resolution that I hope will help secure a multi-billion dollar investment in Ohio, and also play an important role in our country's national defense strategy."