Pictured from left to right are Ohio Association of Secondary School Administrators Executive Director David Axner, Oberlin High School student Max, High School Principal William Baylis, Student Julia, Oberlin City Schools Superintendent John Schroth, and Senator Gayle Manning.

State Senator Gayle Manning (R–North Ridgeville) today presented a resolution to Oberlin High School for being named one of nine Breakthrough Schools of the Year in the country for 2013. Oberlin High School was recognized due to their perseverance and success despite facing high student poverty rates. The Breakthrough School of the Year award is given by the MetLife Foundation and the National Association of Secondary School Principals.

“As a former teacher, I know just how important education is for our children. Oberlin has been able to increase the access its students have to a variety of academic opportunities, regardless of circumstances. This is truly a remarkable achievement and I’m proud to recognize Oberlin as a deserving recipient of this award today,” said Manning.

Featured Posts

Manning Applauds State's Approval Of New LCCC Bachelor's Degree Program


COLUMBUS—State Senator Gayle Manning (R-North Ridgeville) this week applauded the Chancellor for Ohio's Department of Higher Education's approval to grant Lorain County Community College (LCCC) the ability to deliver bachelor's degrees in microelectronic manufacturing. 


Senate Passes Manning, Dolan Bill To Strengthen Penalties For Promoting Prostitution


COLUMBUS—The Senate passed legislation today sponsored by State Senator Gayle Manning (R-North Ridgeville) and State Senator Matt Dolan (R-Chagrin Falls), which would strengthen criminal penalties for individuals who are convicted of promoting prostitution in Ohio.


PHOTO: Manning Joins State Leaders To Identify Non-Pharmacological Approaches To Treat Addiction


COLUMBUS—State Senator Gayle Manning (R-North Ridgeville) today joined Attorney General Mike DeWine, the Ohio Chiropractor Association and U.S. Army Veteran, Sergeant Shilo Harris for a press conference addressing non-pharmacological approaches to treating chronic pain and addiction as a way to help reduce the reliance on opioids.


Manning Encourages Recent Graduates To Apply For The 2019 LSC Fellowship Program


COLUMBUS—State Senator Gayle Manning (R-North Ridgeville) today announced that the Ohio Legislative Service Commission is accepting applications through April 1, 2018 for the 2019 Legislative and Telecommunications Fellowship Program. The Commission will hire 24 fellows to serve in the Ohio General Assembly for the 2019 calendar year.