COLUMBUS—Ohio Senate President Larry Obhof (R-Medina) announced today that legislation aimed at increasing government efficiency and reducing bureaucracy has been signed into law by Governor Kasich.
House Bill 31, which the Senate passed earlier this year, was signed by Kasich last month. The bill eliminated a dozen government boards or commissions that are obsolete or non-operational.
"I'm glad we could work together with the Governor and our colleagues in the House to pass this bill," said Obhof. "The Senate will continue to push for efficiencies like these in state government, getting rid of unnecessary bureaucracy where we can."
This legislation follows a biennial budget cycle that saw significant efforts by the state Senate to restrain spending and streamline government.
# # #
Featured Posts

Obhof Announces Senate Passage Of Criminal Justice Reform Bill


COLUMBUS—Ohio Senate President Larry Obhof (R-Medina) announced the Senate's recent passage of bipartisan legislation that would make a number of comprehensive improvements to Ohio's criminal justice system.


PHOTO: Schwarzenegger Joins Obhof At Statehouse To Recognize Importance Of Ohio's Redistricting Reform Effort


COLUMBUS—Former California Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger today joined Ohio Senate President Larry Obhof (R-Medina), Governor John Kasich and other leaders to recognize the Ohio legislature's successful passage of congressional redistricting reform.


Legislative Leaders Announce $2.62B Investment In Ohio's Local Communities Through Capital Bill


COLUMBUS—Senate President Larry Obhof (R-Medina) and Speaker of the House Clifford A. Rosenberger (R-Clarksville) today introduced the state's Capital Budget, a $2.62 billion investment in Ohio's infrastructure and local community projects. 


Obhof Applauds Completion Of Sexual Assault Kit Testing Initiative


COLUMBUS—Ohio Senate President Larry Obhof (R-Medina) today applauded the completion of the Attorney General’s Sexual Assault Kit Testing Initiative, an effort that has helped deliver justice for victims of rape and sexual assault across Ohio.