Obhof Honors Richland County Children's Museum and High School Track and Field Champions 
COLUMBUS—Ohio Senate President Larry Obhof (R-Medina) recently recognized the following track and field state champions from Richland county on the Senate floor.
  • Joe Ellis, a senior at Mansfield Senior High School, won the Division I State Championship in the High Jump this spring. His successful jump cleared a height of 6 feet 10 inches and unseated the reigning champion in a head-to-head competition.
  • Alyssa Wade, a junior from St. Peter’s High School, won three Division III state titles at the OHSAA Track and Field State Championships this spring in the girls’ 100m Hurdles, 100m Dash and 200m Dash. Her winning time of 24.75 seconds in the 200m Dash was a new personal record.
  • Rachel Miller, who recently graduated from Ontario High School, won the OHSAA Division II State Championship in the girls’ 300m Hurdles this spring with a time of 43 seconds. Miller will be attending Ashland University in the fall, where she plans to continue her track career.
  • Lexington High School seniors Hunter Biddle and Tony Gerrell and juniors Mason Kearns and Forest Volz won the OHSAA Division II 4x400m Relay Team State Championship this spring as well. 
"These young athletes have worked hard and made their schools and community proud," said Obhof. "It's a pleasure to recognize their accomplishments here at the Statehouse."
Little Buckeye Children's Museum Also Recognized
Obhof also recognized the Little Buckeye Children's Museum for its designation as "Institution of the Year" by the Ohio Museum Association. Located in downtown Mansfield, the museum focuses on exploration and play to aid child development, grow imagination and encourage creativity. Many of the exhibits are sponsored by area businesses.

Fred Boll, Executive Director of the Museum, joined Obhof at the Senate to receive the recognition.

"Little Buckeye Children's Museum is a gem in our community," said Obhof. "We know how important early childhood educational experiences are to the development of our children, and I'm proud to recognize the great work of the museum's staff and volunteers to encourage our kids to learn."
Featured Posts

Ohio Senate Passes Legislation Eliminating Barriers For Veterans


“Our veterans should be afforded every opportunity to use the skills they gained while serving in the military when they come home to look for employment," said Obhof. 


PHOTO: Obhof Honors 2017 Ohio Mr. Football


"I am proud to recognize Joey for this exceptional accomplishment," said Obhof. "In addition to his impressive record, Joey has displayed integrity, leadership, and dedication to his teammates."


Obhof Statement On Job Creation Tax Incentive For Mansfield's SkyBox Packaging


COLUMBUS—Ohio Senate President Larry Obhof (R-Medina) issued the following statement in response to news from the Ohio Tax Credit Authority that SkyBox Packaging LLC of Mansfield was approved for a 1.192 percent, six-year Job Creation Tax Credit.


Obhof Announces Bill Reducing Government Bureaucracy Becomes Law


"I'm glad we could work together with the Governor and our colleagues in the House to pass this bill," said Obhof.