State Senator Larry Obhof (R-Medina) attended the 179th Airlift Wing annual awards banquet on Saturday to recognize SSgt. Joseph M. Leitz who was named Outstanding Airman of the Year. 

The annual awards banquet, held at the R&L Banquet Center in Mansfield, recognized members of the 179th Airlift Wing of the Ohio National Air Guard. During the presentation of awards, Senator Obhof presented resolutions to each of the recipients on behalf of the Ohio Senate.

"These men and women have gone above and beyond what is expected of them in their service to our state and nation," said Obhof. "They represent the highest standards of integrity and we applaud the impact they have made on our community."

In addition to SSgt. Leitz, the 179th Airlift Wing recognized several others, including SSgt. Taylor Keltz, Outstanding Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year; MSgt. Michael Casto, Senior Non-Commissioned Officer of the Year; MSgt. James Perry, Outstanding First Sergeant of the Year; 2nd Lt. Andrew Pepin, Company Grade Officer of the Year; SSgt. Alexander Elmlinger, Honor Guard Member of the Year; and Vivian Winters who won the Minuteman Award for her overall support of the 179th Airlift Wing. 

Featured Posts

PHOTO: Obhof Announces Passage Of Bill Authorizing Medina County Bicentennial License Plate


"The bicentennial license plate symbolizes the rich history of Medina County and provides an opportunity to celebrate our community," said Obhof, who sponsored the bill.


Ohio Senate Passes Legislation Eliminating Barriers For Veterans


“Our veterans should be afforded every opportunity to use the skills they gained while serving in the military when they come home to look for employment," said Obhof. 


PHOTO: Obhof Honors 2017 Ohio Mr. Football


"I am proud to recognize Joey for this exceptional accomplishment," said Obhof. "In addition to his impressive record, Joey has displayed integrity, leadership, and dedication to his teammates."


Obhof Statement On Job Creation Tax Incentive For Mansfield's SkyBox Packaging


COLUMBUS—Ohio Senate President Larry Obhof (R-Medina) issued the following statement in response to news from the Ohio Tax Credit Authority that SkyBox Packaging LLC of Mansfield was approved for a 1.192 percent, six-year Job Creation Tax Credit.