Obhof Named To Ohio Constitutional Modernization Commission
Also Appointed To Correctional Institution Inspection Committee
December 13, 2011
[ Larry Obhof Home | Larry Obhof Press ]
Columbus - 
State Senator Larry Obhof (R- Montville Township) announced today he has been appointed to the Ohio Constitutional Modernization Commission by Senate President Tom Niehaus (R- New Richmond). The General Assembly created the Ohio Constitutional Modernization Commission with the passage of House Bill 188 earlier this year. The bipartisan Commission is composed of six members each from the Ohio Senate and Ohio House and an additional 20 members appointed by the legislators. "Our state constitution provides the legal framework that guides both our government and our citizens, and a periodic review of this document will ensure it continues to stand the test of time," Obhof said. "I am honored to have been chosen to serve on this Commission, and look forward to working with my fellow members as we exchange ideas on possible improvements." Every 20 years, the question of whether to hold a constitutional convention must be put to Ohio voters. The Commission would serve as a preparatory body should a convention be called, and would advise the Legislature with respect to any potential constitutional amendments. Members of the Commission are tasked with conducting an in-depth review of Ohio's Constitution in order to come up with suggestions on possible changes to the document as well as the process for amending the Ohio Constitution. The Commission's first report is due to the General Assembly in January 2013, and any recommendations must first be approved by two-thirds of the Commission members. In addition, Obhof has also been appointed to serve on the Correctional Institution Inspection Committee (CIIC). Comprised of legislators from both the Senate and the Ohio House, CIIC is responsible for inspecting and evaluating each state correctional institution, private correctional facility, and youth services facility once during the biennium. The Committee reports its findings to the General Assembly, and Committee members also assist in the development of programs to help improve the conditions or operations at correctional facilities.
State Senator Larry Obhof represents the 22nd Ohio Senate District, which encompasses Medina, Holmes and Wayne counties and portions of Ashland County. For more information, please visit www.ohiosenate.gov/larry-obhof.
Featured Posts

PHOTO: Obhof Announces Passage Of Bill Authorizing Medina County Bicentennial License Plate


"The bicentennial license plate symbolizes the rich history of Medina County and provides an opportunity to celebrate our community," said Obhof, who sponsored the bill.


Ohio Senate Passes Legislation Eliminating Barriers For Veterans


“Our veterans should be afforded every opportunity to use the skills they gained while serving in the military when they come home to look for employment," said Obhof. 


PHOTO: Obhof Honors 2017 Ohio Mr. Football


"I am proud to recognize Joey for this exceptional accomplishment," said Obhof. "In addition to his impressive record, Joey has displayed integrity, leadership, and dedication to his teammates."


Obhof Statement On Job Creation Tax Incentive For Mansfield's SkyBox Packaging


COLUMBUS—Ohio Senate President Larry Obhof (R-Medina) issued the following statement in response to news from the Ohio Tax Credit Authority that SkyBox Packaging LLC of Mansfield was approved for a 1.192 percent, six-year Job Creation Tax Credit.