Senator Obhof, joined by his family, takes the oath of office as President of the Ohio Senate for the 132nd General Assembly during opening ceremonies at the Ohio Statehouse.

COLUMBUS—State Senator Larry Obhof (R-Medina) was sworn in as President of the Ohio Senate during opening day ceremonies today at the Statehouse, which marked the beginning of the 132nd Ohio General Assembly. 

President Obhof represents the 22nd Ohio Senate District, which encompasses all of Medina, Ashland and Richland counties as well as portions of Holmes County.
Appointed to the Ohio Senate in 2011, Obhof was elected by the voters in 2012 and again in 2016. He has served in leadership since 2013, first as Majority Whip and most recently as President Pro Tempore—the chamber's number two position. 

"I am honored that my colleagues have selected me to lead the Senate during this General Assembly,” said Obhof. “I look forward to building on our efforts to improve Ohio’s economy and making sure our state is responsive to the needs of Ohioans." 

President Obhof will be the first Senator from Medina County to lead the chamber since Senator Samuel Humphreyville, who served as the Senate's leader in the 1860s. As President, Senator Obhof will oversee the 33-seat chamber.

During his time in the Senate, President Obhof has sponsored legislation covering a wide range of issues, including education, civil and criminal law, election administration and taxation. He has been named Watchdog of the Treasury by United Conservatives of Ohio and a friend of Agriculture by the Ohio Farm Bureau Federation. Obhof has also been named Guardian of Small Business by the National Federation of Independent Business in recognition of his efforts to improve Ohio's economy. He resides in Montville Township with his wife Nicole and their three daughters. 
Other members of the Ohio Senate Majority Caucus leadership who were sworn in during today's special ceremonies included Senator Bob Peterson (R-Washington Court House) as President Pro Tempore, Senator Randy Gardner (R-Bowling Green) as Majority Floor Leader and Gayle Manning (R-North Ridgeville) reelected as Majority Whip. 
The 132nd Ohio General Assembly will run through December 31, 2018.

Featured Posts

Ohio Senate Passes Legislation Eliminating Barriers For Veterans


“Our veterans should be afforded every opportunity to use the skills they gained while serving in the military when they come home to look for employment," said Obhof. 


PHOTO: Obhof Honors 2017 Ohio Mr. Football


"I am proud to recognize Joey for this exceptional accomplishment," said Obhof. "In addition to his impressive record, Joey has displayed integrity, leadership, and dedication to his teammates."


Obhof Statement On Job Creation Tax Incentive For Mansfield's SkyBox Packaging


COLUMBUS—Ohio Senate President Larry Obhof (R-Medina) issued the following statement in response to news from the Ohio Tax Credit Authority that SkyBox Packaging LLC of Mansfield was approved for a 1.192 percent, six-year Job Creation Tax Credit.


Obhof Announces Bill Reducing Government Bureaucracy Becomes Law


"I'm glad we could work together with the Governor and our colleagues in the House to pass this bill," said Obhof.