Columbus - 
State Senator Larry Obhof (R - Montville Township) announced that the Ohio Senate has adopted a Resolution honoring Wayne County on its bicentennial. Wayne County was officially organized through an act of the Ohio Legislature in January of 1812. The act went into effect on March 1 of that same year. Senate Resolution 183, which was sponsored by Obhof and State Senator Frank LaRose (R - Copley), states that for two centuries, "Wayne County has enjoyed the benefits of a generous and civic-minded population." As the Resolution also notes, "the county has become known for its residents' cooperation, integrity, and willingness to work hard." "Throughout 2012, Wayne County residents will have the opportunity to share in a unique celebration of the past," said Obhof. "As this community reflects on the past two centuries, Senator LaRose and I would like to be among the first to wish the County continued growth and success in the years to come." The City of Wooster serves as the county seat of Wayne County.
State Senator Larry Obhof represents the 22nd Ohio Senate District, which encompasses Medina, Holmes and Wayne counties and portions of Ashland County. For more information, please visit
Featured Posts

ADVISORY: Obhof To Discuss Need For Additional Regulatory Reforms In Ohio


Senate President Larry Obhof (R-Medina) will join researchers from the Mercatus Center of George Mason University to discuss the negative impact of a growing regulatory system on the economic growth and development of the state of Ohio. With 246,852 restrictions, Ohio is one of the most heavily regulated states analyzed by the Mercatus Center, with nearly as many restrictions as Illinois and far more rules than neighboring states like Michigan, Pennsylvania, Kentucky and West Virginia.


Obhof Announces Senate Passage Of Criminal Justice Reform Bill


COLUMBUS—Ohio Senate President Larry Obhof (R-Medina) announced the Senate's recent passage of bipartisan legislation that would make a number of comprehensive improvements to Ohio's criminal justice system.


PHOTO: Schwarzenegger Joins Obhof At Statehouse To Recognize Importance Of Ohio's Redistricting Reform Effort


COLUMBUS—Former California Governor Arnold Schwarzenegger today joined Ohio Senate President Larry Obhof (R-Medina), Governor John Kasich and other leaders to recognize the Ohio legislature's successful passage of congressional redistricting reform.


Legislative Leaders Announce $2.62B Investment In Ohio's Local Communities Through Capital Bill


COLUMBUS—Senate President Larry Obhof (R-Medina) and Speaker of the House Clifford A. Rosenberger (R-Clarksville) today introduced the state's Capital Budget, a $2.62 billion investment in Ohio's infrastructure and local community projects.