COLUMBUS – Senate President Larry Obhof (R–Medina) announced the Senate passage of legislation that would eliminate unnecessary primary elections for uncontested party nominations.  The Senate unanimously passed Senate Bill 10 last week, which was sponsored by Senator Frank LaRose (R-Hudson) and co-sponsored by Obhof.  
Under current law, boards of elections are required to hold primary elections when two or more people file to run for an office, even if only one candidate remains on the ballot after the death, withdrawal or disqualification of other candidates.  This has caused boards of elections to hold unnecessary primary elections throughout Ohio.  One notable example occurred in southwest Ohio following the resignation of Speaker John Boehner from Congress.  The September 2016 special Democratic primary for that position cost taxpayers an estimated $340,800 even though the race was uncontested. 
Senate Bill 10 would prevent unnecessary, single-candidate elections in the future – saving money, employee time and other resources.  The bill will change the law to trigger a primary election based on the number of candidates who are actually certified to appear on the ballot, not the number of candidates who initially file. 
“Senate Bill 10 will remove an unnecessary and expensive mandate from our local boards of elections,” said Obhof.  “This commonsense change will save hundreds of man hours and hundreds of thousands of taxpayers’ dollars.”
Senate Bill 10 now goes to the Ohio House of Representatives for further consideration.

Featured Posts

Obhof Announces Redistricting Reform Ballot Language Approved For Ohioans' Vote In May


COLUMBUS—Ohio Senate President Larry Obhof (R-Medina) today announced the Ohio Ballot Board unanimously approved the language for the redistricting reform proposal that will go before Ohio voters as Issue 1 on May 8.


Obhof Announces 2019 Legislative Fellowship Program


COLUMBUS—Ohio Senate President Larry Obhof (R-Medina) today announced that the Ohio Legislative Service Commission (LSC) is accepting applications through April 1, 2018 for the 2019 Legislative and Telecommunications Fellowship Program. The Commission will hire 24 fellows to serve in the Ohio General Assembly for the 2019 calendar year.


Obhof Signs Historic Congressional Redistricting Plan


COLUMBUS—Ohio Senate President Larry Obhof (R-Medina) yesterday signed a resolution which will reform the process for drawing Ohio's congressional districts. After months of public input and weeks of negotiations between leaders from both parties, Senate Joint Resolution 5 passed the Ohio Senate this week with a unanimous, bipartisan vote. It also passed the Ohio House with strong support and now goes to the May ballot for Ohio voters to approve. Obhof co-sponsored the resolution and was one of the lead negotiators for the eventual compromise.


PHOTO: Obhof Honors Brunswick Family For Winning National Educational Choice Video Contest


COLUMBUS—Ohio Senate President Larry Obhof (R-Medina) recently recognized the Fife family from Brunswick on the Senate floor for winning the nationwide Choices in Education National Video Contest sponsored in part by The Foundation for Excellence in Education.