COLUMBUS – State Senator Sean O’Brien (D-Bazetta) announced today that the Ohio Senate unanimously passed Senate Concurrent Resolution 15, which designates 2018 as “Ohio’s Year of the Trails”. Co-sponsored by Sen. O’Brien and Sen. Steve Wilson (R-Maineville), SCR 15 encourages Ohioans to take advantage of their local trail network, pays tribute to those who maintain and improve the trails and advocates for more trail segments to be connected.

“By bringing awareness to the extensive trails network in our state, we can recognize the people who have helped make it a reality and, hopefully, facilitate its continued improvement for years to come,” said Sen. O’Brien. “Additionally, this would give the Ohio Legislative Trails Caucus a designated timeframe in which to achieve some of the goals we discussed during our initial meeting in May.”

The OLTC is a group of state legislators from both parties and both chambers of the Ohio General Assembly that advocates for the development, maintenance and preservation of Ohio’s non-motorized trails. The group is co-chaired by Sens. O’Brien and Wilson and is the first of its kind in the nation at the state level.

“Ohio is home to more than 3,500 miles of trails that are used for a variety of activities including walking, biking, horseback riding, rolling and paddling,” said O’Brien. “Not only do these pathways provide significant economic and environmental benefits, but they are also an important feature in helping to improve Ohioans’ quality of life, encouraging community connections and promoting a healthy lifestyle.”

SCR 15, which now moves to the House of Representatives, had a bi-partisan group of co-sponsors, including the majority of OLTC members in the Senate. Additional information, including a draft of the document and its current legislative status, is available here.

Featured Posts