COLUMBUS—On Friday, Ohio Senate President Larry Obhof (R-Medina) announced the appointment of State Senator Joe Uecker (R-Miami Township) to the Southern Ohio Agricultural and Community Development Foundation.

State lawmakers established the foundation in 1999 in an effort to promote economic revitalization in southern Ohio's tobacco-producing counties.

"I'm honored to join this distinguished group of community leaders as we promote opportunities that help spur job creation here in southern Ohio," said Uecker. "Programs supported by the foundation also play an important role in improving quality of life for families across the region."

The Southern Ohio Agricultural and Community Development Foundation is charged with developing and carrying out programs to help replace the production of tobacco with other agricultural products and to mitigate the adverse economic impact of reduced tobacco production in the 22 burley tobacco growing counties in southern Ohio.

A 12-member Board of Trustees governs the Foundation, while day-to-day operations are overseen by an executive director and two other employees.

Featured Posts

Ohio Senate Passes Congressional Redistricting Reform Plan With Bipartisan Support


With unanimous, bipartisan support, the Ohio Senate today passed a plan to reform the process for drawing Ohio’s congressional districts. The passage of Substitute Senate Joint Resolution 5 follows weeks of negotiations between the leadership of both parties in the General Assembly and various redistricting reform coalitions.


GUEST COLUMN: A Look Back At 2017


As we begin the new year, we have passed the halfway point for the 132nd General Assembly, the two-year cycle for introducing and enacting new legislation.  As I look back at the past twelve months, I am proud that my colleagues and I have worked to keep our commitments to the people of our great state. 


Senate President Announces Process To Fill 1st Senate District Vacancy


COLUMBUS - Senate President Larry Obhof (R-Medina) announced today the application process to fill a vacancy in Ohio’s 1st Senate District seat, which encompasses all of Defiance, Hancock, Hardin, Henry, Paulding, Putnam, Van Wert and Williams counties as well as portions of Auglaize, Fulton and Logan counties in northwest Ohio.